Six Subaru Models Earn 2017 IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK Distinction

If you focus on safety ratings when shopping for a new vehicle, the hardest part about picking out a new Subaru model might be just deciding which one you like best. That's because of the incredible vehicles in the Subaru lineup, six of them earned high enough marks from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety to be named 2017 TOP SAFETY PICK or TOP SAFETY PICK+ models.

What are the criteria for such high honors?

To qualify for TOP SAFETY PICK status, a vehicle must earn good ratings in five different IIHS crash tests. These are designed to assess a vehicle's ability to protect its passengers under a variety of crash scenarios such as side impact, front impact, rollover, and more. Head restraints are also tested for passenger protection.

Next, a vehicle must earn and advanced or superior rating for front crash prevention. When equipped with the available Subaru EyeSight Driver Assist Technology, all Subaru models earn a superior rating for front crash prevention from the IIHS. The 2017 Subaru Crosstrek and WRX both earned a TOP SAFETY PICK rating.

To earn the coveted TOP SAFETY PICK+ title, a vehicle must meet all the same criteria as a TOP SAFETY PICK and it must also earn an acceptable or good rating for headlights. The 2017 Subaru Impreza (both the sedan and the hatchback versions), Legacy, Outback, and Forester all earned top marks from the IIHS for their amazing dedication to safety.

What is Subaru EyeSight Driver Assist Technology?

EyeSight is Subaru's advanced safety system. Designed with you in mind, it employs numerous features to help you stay secure on the road. This available system helps to increase driver awareness and peace of mind with intelligent features like Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Keep Assist and Sway Warning, Pre-Collision Braking, and Pre-Collision Throttle Management.

Do 2018 Subaru models have EyeSight available?

Yes! EyeSight is available on the 2018 Subaru Impreza (sedan and hatchback), Crosstrek, WRX, Forester, Legacy, and Outback. These models have not yet received an IIHS safety rating, but we expect similar results.

Call Sewell Subaru today to learn more about Subaru safety features!

Categories: New Inventory, Safety, Social


Nothing posted yet.
/* written by ddcjamesc css for this is at: /Users/ddcjamesc/git/cms-sites/htdocs/sites/s/subaruprofile/stylesheets/0001.css /Users/ddcjamesc/git/cms-sites/htdocs/sites/s/subaruprofile/stylesheets/0002.css */
true true true true true true true true true true true true