IIHS, the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, rewards vehicles every year for the TOP SAFETY PICK+ and TOP SAFETY PICK titles. For the 2020 model year, Subaru has tied for the most IIHS awards with nine awards!

Which 2020 Subaru Models Earned The IIHS Titles?


  • Subaru Crosstrek Hybrid
  • Subaru Forester
  • Subaru Legacy
  • Subaru Outback (built after October 2019)


  • Subaru Ascent (with specific headlights)
  • Subaru Crosstrek (with specific headlights and EyeSight®)
  • Subaru Impreza sedan and hatchback (with specific headlights and EyeSight®)
  • Subaru WRZ (with specific headlights and EyeSight®)

How Does IIHS Determine Its Winners?

Since 2006, IIHS has been testing vehicles for their safety features and safety ratings. They test crashworthiness, vehicle-to-pedestrian evaluations, front crash prevention, vehicle-to-vehicle evaluations, headlights, and much more. To earn the TOP SAFETY PICK+ or TOP SAFETY PICK awards, vehicles have to earn a 'Good' rating it each of the six crashworthiness tests, 'Advanced' or 'Superior' ratings in front crash prevention, vehicle-to-vehicle evaluation, and vehicle-to-pedestrian evaluation. The 'Plus' is added when the vehicle also receives a 'Good' or 'Acceptable' rating in headlights.

See The 2020 Winners For Yourself At Sewell Subaru

If you'd like to take a closer look at any of these IIHS winners for yourself, feel free to browse through our many online inventories. We offer a wide array of brand-new 2020 Subaru models, ranging from the 2020 Subaru Crosstrek to the 2020 Subaru WRZ, and we'd love to offer you a test drive in any model you choose. Contact us to schedule a test drive or with any questions that you may have.

Categories: New Inventory, News, Safety, Social